Top 10 Final Fantasy Characters – #3

#3 – Auron

Three straight Final Fantasy X characters? What is this madness? Its almost like FFX is my favorite Final Fantasy game or something…

Yes yes, I know. Putting Auron this high on my list is contradicting a lot of the things that I have been saying in these entries so far. Auron certainly isn’t a very deep or well developed character, and he does have his fair share of Final Fantasy cliches attached to him. That being said, for this one character only… I don’t care.

It’s true that Auron isn’t much more than the strong, silent warrior who’s physical strength outclasses everyone around him. He’s a self-loathing man who blames himself for pretty much everything that happens to those around him, even though it is never really his fault. However, Auron’s level of badassery is so high that I don’t even care that he’s a bundle of cliches.

The extremes that Auron’s character is taken to is what makes his rather typical personality entertaining. Just look at the guy: he rocks the shades better than anyone else, has a scar over one of his eyes, and manages to wield a 800 pound sword with one hand! He get’s stronger by drinking out of his jug of manliness, and then uses it to spit at anyone who dares face him. Not to mention, this dude is still kicking everyone’s ass, despite the fact that he is dead!  This dude makes Cloud and Squall look like friggin’ muppets. I don’t care what anyone says, Auron is the most bad ass character in the history of Final Fantasy.

Bow down, Zanarkand! Bow down to your master of manliness!

Auron also functions as the wise old man of the party, often giving the rest of the cast the advice they need to grow as characters. Without Auron, the FFX party would be running around like headless chickens. He is given the best dialog in the entire game; dialog that perfectly embodies his strong, yet wise nature.

“Now! This is it! Now is the time to choose! Die and be free of pain or live and fight your sorrow! Now is the time to shape your stories! Your fate is in your hands!”

Once again, I have to apologize for constantly preaching about how much I don’t like the typical bad ass characters. I know that Auron’s spot on this list is rather contradictory, but I can’t help it. Even though he’s from a fairly recent Final Fantasy game, I have a strange nostalgic attachment towards him. Maybe it’s becuase FFX was my first PS2 game, and the PS2 managed to become my favorite console ever (and yes, I promise that Auron is the last FFX character on the list). Auron takes the most overused Final Fantasy trope, and blows it so out of proportion that I can’t help but love him for it.

Leave a Reply

